Divorcees may be eligible to the same kind of premium refund as a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife were built with a poor driving history and you have continued to pay for their old surcharged rates given that they left your household permanently, bring this for the immediate attention of your insurance representative. Visit him with all of pertinent and documented information which means that your premiums can be reduced immediately while the job recommended reading for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for anywhere from three to live years, depending upon state law and individual company policy. Two or more transgressions or a mixture of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially lift up your rates, but probably force you to stay with the same company, paying its high premiums, in the hope of not receiving canceled and thrown in to the assigned risk pool, where it may be even worse.
For instance, suppose you are a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket throughout a winter vacation in Florida so you then slid on the ice on the way home, causing $2,000 damage to your car, that you simply reported to your insurance company.
As an example, if you were separated or divorced last year but forgot which you were still paying a $600 premium based on a two-car family, you’d be eligible for an instantaneous rate reduction to $250 (depending on only your automobile) and a premium refund of $560. If you had neglected to inform your insurance company for 2 years, you would be entitled to a $780 refund, etc.
If your insurance company procrastinates or refuses outright to pay the refund, your state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will help you with a legitimate complaint. Like a last resort, there is a option of using the matter to a small-claims court or to your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, a clean record today keeps the high rates away, is truer now than ever. Since the creation of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents appear on your Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even if they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving a company vehicle on the job.